Some people think adults should learn practical skills by themselves, while others think they should learn with teachers in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern society of lifelong learning, adults also need to learn to cope with this changing world. There is a debate that adults should learn by themselves or through teachers’ help. In my point of view, both methods have their pros and cons, but self -learning would be a better idea for further development.

Self-learning means learners could have a flexible timetable which is important for adults who have limited time, Self-learning allows adults to fit learning into their existing schedules or make lesser changes to their lifestyles. There's no real ability to work full-time when attending college, but it's possible if you can schedule your studies in the evenings and during the weekends. However, There are usually no professionals to guide you when you self-learn, there's no one to approach personally and discuss your concerns and thoughts with which means self-learners are easily to make basic mistakes because they lack of input from trainers.

Learning practical skills under teachers’ supervision could be a more efficient and systematic way, because teachers can immediately identify the mistakes that students made and direct them back on the right track. Therefore, students can avoid unnecessary detours which would help students avoid wasting money and time. Furthermore, the benefits of a mentor go beyond raw information. Good mentors show us the reasons behind what they do. They can give us the "why" that's always so important. Mentors also serve as professional role models and induce leaners’ potentials. In this case, adults would benefit from teachers.

In conclusion, encouraging adults to learn independently is one of the methods to learn practical skills. But receiving guidance from teachers is a better strategy for adults to learn in a more systematic way.