Some people think advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advertising, a marketing strategy often deployed to lure public interest to a defined venture, is not a novel phenomenon. While some persons subscribe to the school that promotion is an absolute catalyst for the decision to buy an item, others deem it has gained much currency that it no longer draw interest. I will bear my opinion on the topic, though not until the twin standpoints are succintly enunciated.

To start with, the maxim that advertising is the soul of business still hold sway as it is often expressed to connote its breakthrough in sometimes making people go for an item that is not on their wishlist. It goes without saying that promotions usually avail patrons the privilege to have the knowledge of a commodity and its perceived usefulness, hence eliciting a demand. In recent memory, for instance, hand sanitizers and face masks were frequently advertised on various media channels in Nigeria, just so patrons can become aware of its germane influence in cushioning the effect of Corona virus.

By a different token, inundating advertising that has reigned supreme overtime has elicited some backlash from the public who have had enough of panning their eyes and ears to what they have seen or heard countlessly. Reiterating what is not clandestine but glaring, over and again, is not just a recipe for boredom, but depression. In exemplifying this, Abraham Maslow avers in his "Hierarchy of Needs Theory" that once a given level of need has been satisfied or met it no longer entice or stimulate, thus the reason advertising is no longer eye-catching.

In my opinion, advertising is an appealing marketing strategy for making people purchase an item they would otherwise have ignored, but for the gains behind some of the promotions which are too vital to snub.