Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, as demanding and supplying on labour are fluctuating, a substantial proportion of people has been prompted to suggest that students should compulsorily study certain subjects. While other people believe that it is better to study subjects they prefer. In my opinion, I agree that the students have the rights to choose a course they are interested in.

Interestingly, to overcome the acute shortage in particular jobs, some people claim that universities should only offer subjects that serving labour market, which has a lack of specific jobs. For example, in some communities, if a shortage of doctors is found in hospitals, students will have to study medicine in order to ease this shortage. As a result, not only the unemployment problem will be solved but also eliminate the needs for overseas employees. However, it is more likely to have an adverse effect. For example, by compelling students for particular major, it will impact badly on their psychological state.

As a matter of fact, students are free to choose the desired areas of study unconditionally which they are passionate about. This will be beneficial for society as well as individuals because the students will have the motivation to success in their studies and their future career. For instance, the genius musician Beethoven, who composed prodigious symphonies, preferred to study music rather than science or engineering. Moreover, by letting them choose their areas of study, they will psychologically feel good which contribute also to their success.

In conclusion, although the benefits of the compulsory areas of study such as tackle unemployment, I believe that it is better for students to study whatever they like.