Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether students should have freedom of choices over what they are going to learn during their tertiary years or should they be obliged to study certain technical subjects assigned by the university becomes a widely debated issue. In this essay, I will proclaim both arguments, followed by my personal view.

The former opinion of allowing students to study whatever they want is agreeable for the following reasons. Indeed the university students are not adolescents anymore, who can sometimes be wishy-washy. Majority of them are certain about their passion and are motivated to pursue them. The academic outputs will be astonishing if the youths were given chances to follow their dream. For instance, a young man who is passionate about literature can feel devastated when he is forced to study engineering. Allowing the students to choose their interested majors for the first two university years is also an appealing idea. By doing so, while those who know their passion will be more immersed in their subject matters, those who are not sure with their calling will have a chance to reconsider their choice. In addition, society is not evolving with just only scientists or technicians, it is also decorated with artists and authors. Letting the youths choose a wide range of subject matters will not only their courage to take on any challenges be enhanced, but also their inspiration to adept in their respective fields be enhanced; not just living their lives blindly for a salary-oriented career.

On the contrary, the latter opinion highlights the responsibility of higher education to prepare the university students for practical work in the future. In this era of information, the subjects such as accounting of basic computer skills are very much essential for every profession. By providing these assets as compulsory majors in the syllabus, the juveniles will be proficient and ready for the actual employees' environment as soon as they are graduated. Also, a predefined curriculum will help the students to be focused and committed to their own track since they can be considered as inexperienced in practicing "self-control".

To sum up, both the arguments have pros and cons and the rest is up to the choice of the university. Personally I believe that certain freedom should be granted to the students: giving a space to develop their passionate field while a complete freedom to the selection of subjects is not a wise option to consider.