Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

"The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance"-Socrates. The prompt asserts two divergent opinions where the first one states that certain demogrpahic considers that university students should study what they want and the other opinion is that they should study practical courses. In my opinion, there are advantages and disadvantages of each of the opinions, there should be an amalgamation of the the viewpoints.

First of all, the first viewpoint, the university students should be able to have the oppurtunity to take whatever courses they want. This will give the students a chance to explore all of their desired avenues of knowledge. For example, a mathematics or theoretical physics student may want to take up a course in history or literature out of sheer curiosity or maybe a background passion of these humanities courses. These students will have the chance to study these courses which are not even remotely related to their majors. Furthermore, some other courses such as philosophy course or economics courses may even have beneficial attributes to the students. Because, at first we had only philosophy as a subject which eventually parted into physics, chemistry, astronomy, and mathematics. So, a theoretical physics students may have the ability to explore the past philosphies which were closely related to science. And, as many graduate mathematics students study finances and economics, it would be advantageous for them to have a somewhat foreground about them by studying a rudimentary course about economics.

Secondly, the latter opinion, there should be an intransigent courses available to the students, and there should be only pragmatic courses which are helpful in real life. This opinion also does have merits, as the job market at present is getting more and more competetive. It is wise to have courses more oritented towards jobs than abstract knowledges. Moreover, as we are leaning towards a more techonlogically advanced society where technology and business related jobs are flourishing. Then, it should be prudent to have basic technological and business related courses be mandatory to all the subjects. For example, all most in all corporate jobs, it is a must to have knowledge about Microsoft Excel, spreadsheets, and slack. A candidate with zero knowledge about these softwares has lesser chances of getting a job in the real world. Hence, these courses are necessary.

However, universities siding with only one of the opinions may lead to a detrimental result. As, the two opinions are on the two opposite extremes of a same spectrum. It would be wise to have a mixture of these two. Students should have the indepence to choose what they want, if they want to take up various courses or want to stick to the pragmatic courses.

In conclusion, both of the opinions has their own merits and demerits. None of the opinions can be disregarded, only by amalgamtion we can move forward.