Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views a

People have different views on whether college students should be made to study practical subjects or can select their favorite academic disciplines. While there are advantages to following a program of studies based on the learner’s personal interest, I would argue that it is generally more beneficial for students to focus on highly applicable knowledge.

On the one hand, the freedom to choose one’s preferable modules could provide a university student with several benefits. Firstly, if learners are allowed to study what they like, it is more likely that they can have more motivation to overcome potential challenges during their learning process. As a result, this method would remarkably improve students’ academic achievements. Secondly, by working on the areas that they are truly enthusiastic about, young people would have the tendency to invest in deeper comprehension of their subjects. This could help them significantly in discovering their true passion, as well as paving the road to pursue higher education.

On the other hand, I believe that there is a variety of benefits in applying for a compulsory teaching program with practical subjects to university students. One of the primary reasons is that tertiary education plays an essential role in preparing young people with necessary knowledge for their future employment. A solid educational background on practical subjects would assist students in searching for better job opportunities, as well as achieving significant career progression. In addition, an individual’s interest is constantly changing and highly unreliable. A student may find a subject extremely promising at first, but he may realize it is tedious after a while or that it is of little use after graduation. As a result, relying merely on a student’s hobby in choosing his or her academic subjects can do more harm than good. Therefore, studying a well – designed syllabus with useful subjects would be a better alternative.

In conclusion, it seems to me that university students would gain more benefits from studying practical subjects than deciding their curricular according to their likings.