Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions towards what students should study at university. It is generally believed that students can choose to study their favourite subjects. However, it is sometimes argued that students should study fields that these people think will be valuable in the future such as science and technology. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that students are able to choose their area of study.

On the one hand, some people claimed that restricting university students to subjects like science and technology should be carried out because of these areas’ contribution to society. Particularly, the development in science or technology leads to an increase in the levels of life quality that includes a large number of fields. For example, the invention of the vaccine Covid-19 thanks to advances in medical research, computer science and technology helped to create herd immunity and reduced the number of patients. It seems that studying these kinds of subjects is a better choice when students go to university.

On the other hand, I believe that students can choose to study whatever they like. This is because a country not only needs developments in science or technology but also other areas such as economics, arts and so on to become prosperous. Take economics as an example, students in this area can also contribute to society by putting forward a great many ideas to improve the economic situation, especially in the Covid-19 pandemic, when economics is affected seriously. In contrast, students who are proficient in science and technology could not bring out a proper solution to alleviate the economic problems. Clearly, all subjects are important and have different values, so students should be allowed to study their desire.

In conclusion, although restricting students to study subjects that may be useful in the future like science and technology would make a great contribution to society, I strongly believe that allowing students to choose what they love to study will help to develop the country comprehensively.