Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people think that university students should be limited to STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) classes, while others say that undergraduates should enroll in the courses they want. While STEM courses are beneficial for the students when they look for jobs in the future, I believe that it is better if they can pick the subjects based on their preferences in order to be more successful in their study.

On the one hand, students with STEM backgrounds are more successful in the job search. This is because technology companies are growing steadily, and many corporations including public, private, national and international ones are searching for STEM workers. As a result, undergraduates with much knowledge of STEM classes are likely to be able to apply lessons from school to get jobs. In Canada, students from STEM fields secure jobs five times faster than students in other fields after their graduation. However, as each person has different ability to study, not all students can be good at STEM classes.

On the other hand, allowing university students to choose subjects they like is thought to help them study better. When students are able to register for their favorite classes, they will have more motivation to go to school and put more efforts in completing the courses. One survey in Vietnam showed that when students were allowed to study what they like, they were 60% more successful than when they were forced to study one subject. I believe this method makes a university education more meaningful to a student because he/she can go to classes and learn what he/she truly likes.

In conclusion, although STEM classes can help students get jobs faster and get paid more in the future, they are not suitable for all students’ study abilities. I think universities should take students’ preferences into consideration and give them the option to pick the courses they like in order to achieve better study goals.