Some people think that art is an important subject for students at high schools. Others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

For many years, in Eastern countries, there is a familiar prejudice that art is an unnecessary subject. On the contrary, it is sometimes claimed that art is an indispensable part of high schools curriculum. From my point of view, I firmly believe that art should not be a mandatory subject but still available for whose artwork is a crucial part of their life.

At the outset, there is no denying that a lot of people favor science subjects while belittling liberal art. This is owing to the fact that s great number of students who have graduated from art schools find it impossible to work as a professional artist. As a result, individuals tend to think it is pointless squandering time on studying art. In addition to that, in respect to students who do not have a good command of drawing, those art classes make them feel uncomfortable, or angry and depressed as their art teachers always expect them to do as well as other art students.

On the contrast, regards to some people, art still is a crucial part of high school pupils. First and foremost, it makes a great contribution to the development of teenagers. Students being avid for drawing may find it very useful for having studied art in their high schools as a foundation which can help them to pursue their passion much more easily. Furthermore, art is ostensibly proven to be an efficacious method to diminish stress and enhance work productivity. Not only can students have a relaxation after some tough classes by means of art, it also can help them develop their creativity and other essential skills.

Last but not least, I wholeheartedly believe that art should be optional for all students. They are forced to engage in these classes if they do not have avidity for it. Meanwhile, for those who crave for developing their talent of artwork, they can easily take a full advantage of it thanks to their own schedule which includes art as a momentous subject.

To sum up, I claim that art should be an optional subject in preference to a compulsory one.