Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give yr opinion

Nowadays people are facing soaring crime rate around the world. This issue could be addressed by many solutions. There are those who argue that the most effective way to combat delinquency is prolonging the imprisonment. By contrast, others claim that there are more useful measures. In my opinion, it is more valuable in the second view.

The solution to put criminals in jail in longer period is attractive for several reasons. Firstly, prisoners have no opportunity to carry out a crime in the society. It is clear that there is strict management and schedule for criminals to follow closely on a daily basis. So they cannot escape and pose threats to the community. As a result, the crime rate might decline significantly and the society is safer as well. Secondly, imprisonment could rehabilitate the prisoners. Spending long time in jail can change their minds and characters. For example, rehabilitation service gives daily lectures to a murder so that he would look at his mistakes and realize how brutal his behavior was, then he will not re-offend when being released.

On the other hand, I believe that it is more realistic to tackle crime by other methods which concern root causes of the problem. There can be no doubt that providing compulsory education to every citizen in the society will reduce the number of offenders. Owing to lack of education, many young people are not aware of what is good and what is not, this causes them to have delinquent behavior. To use Vietnam as an example, almost people who did not go to school or in order words, not well-educated citizens, have committed crime. Furthermore, community work would help to reduce crime rate. In addition, providing stable and well-paying jobs for ex-offenders will help them not get involved in delinquent behavior anymore. When returning the community, if criminals settle their lives, they will change their mind and become better people. With a happy life outside, they are less likely to come back to prison.

In conclusion, longer prison sentences can be helpful to combat crime but I believe that there are more significant solutions such as spreading compulsory education and caring ex-offenders’ lives.