Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that the most effective method of reducing crime is giving jail imprisonment for long period of time. However some people think there are existed another method to decrease the criminal quantity. Long sentences might stop only some minor criminals; it is unlikely that majority of felony would be committed anyways. This essay will consider why eventually only few crime types will be reduced.

Long imprisonment would help to stop essential crimes because human do not want to be convicted for continuous period of time and destroy their whole life. In China, for example, minor crimes are very rarely because of the severe law. Chinese has the lowest rate of theft, shoplifting, burglaries and robberies. In addition, for these kinds of crime human might spend 10 or even 20 year in the jail. That is why, long sentence may cut minor offences which is about 70% of crime.

Conversely, criminals, who committed major crime, do not afraid long imprisonment. These people do not care about punishment and they know in advance that it may be highest penalty. For instance, in the United States of America exist capital punishment, however every year hundreds guilty murders, terrorists are under death penalty and hundred thousand get whole life imprisonment. For these reasons, long imprisonment does not work properly with major criminal and there must be other ways to reduce felony.

To conclude, it is increasingly likely that longer penalty will cut crime. Long imprisonment will eventually fall minor crimes while it will not affect to the major criminals. Ultimately, most crime will be reduced by long sentences.