Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern life, crime becomes more serious and the rate of wrongdoers has an up trend. That the measures which should be implemented to decrease crime has controversial. Several people believe that the most effective solution to tackle this issue it to serve prison sentences for longer period while others argue that there are some different methods which are more better. This essay will discuss both opinions.

To begin with, there are some positive influences of putting offenders in jail for a long term. First and foremost, longer prison sentence will act as a deterrent and will be one useful measure to tackle rising crime. For example, when the governments impose the strict laws which are tough on crime toward serious crimes, criminals will not re-offend and as a result, the crime rate will reduce. in addition, giving wrongdoers a longer prison is also provide them a chance of rehabilitation. Due to the fact that those offenders need to have more time to reflect their illegal actions and re-educated to become an useful member before being released back into society.

On the other hand, the governments should impose some different punishments depending on the dangerous level of crimes. In terms of crimes which are not serious, the courts can give a range of non-custodial sentences such as fines, probation orders or community services orders. For instance, society service is a good way to provide offenders the opportunity to give some positive back to society, and so it may improve their characters. Moreover, the governments should focus on the cause of crimes to have suitable penalties. It is clearly seen that it is unfair to impose the same sentences on people who commit a crime for starvation and a murder.

In my opinion, besides giving longer sentences, alternative methods play an integral part to reduce crime. Longer prison sentences should remain for those who commit the serious crimes like murder or assassination while the others offenders should be taken into consideration for some different methods.

In conclusion, in order to deter the crime, the governments should take some different solutions to ensure that effective polices are in place.