Some people think climate change has a negative impact on business while others think that it provides more business options Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Climate change is considered to deteriorate the business; in the meantime, others believe that this phenomenon could also bring business advantages. From my point of view, even though some features of climate change are beneficial, in generally it is still harmful to humankind in the long run.

Climate change could lead to extreme weather conditions or even natural disasters such as drought, flood, forest fire, etc. These disasters will have significantly negative economic impact on particular areas. First of all, factories and business centers are destroyed and isolated, supplies are cut down. Second, local people have to suffer not only physically and mentally but also financially, after that their spending ability reduces substantially. For example, the center of Vietnam suffered from a severe flood in the last June and July and the regional economic growth is negative for the year 2020.

On the other hand, some feature of climate change that are not serious can bring positive outcomes to some specific businesses. When average temperature is higher and higher year after year, the demand for summer products is also increasing. Products that help us to endure the heat of the summer could be air-conditional, sunblock products for skin, iced beverages, delivery service etc. Summer in Vietnam, sales of air-conditioner always increase for the reason that people need to equip their house with (more) cooling devices. Moreover, food delivery services like Grab or Now, which has been developing in Vietnam in the past few years, experience a fairly high demand in summer since people avoid going out to eat, they’d rather stay at home and order food delivered to their home.

Besides, from a larger view, ice melting can open more sea routes that would stimulate freight service. China is accused of taking advantages of global warming to be beneficial by this effect of ice melting.

In conclusion, global warming and climate change will bring more negativity to humankind rather than some business opportunities. People should raise awareness about this problem to partly mitigate it in the future.