Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A criminal is an act of crime that happens among peoples such as murder, theft, or sexual crime. In this topic, some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, to reduce the crime rate. I disagree that criminals must be given longer sentences in jail to decrease the crime rate because the length of the sentence does not determine to change the way of their lives and emergence a sense of injustice.

Firstly, the duration of the sentence does not determine to change the way of their lives. Through a period of punishment, they can change the way of their lives. this is because at the time they were serving a sentence they can find the new journey of their lives because of the learning they got in a prison as they found their expertise from the program of jail. Therefore, be given longer terms for criminals in jail doesn't determine criminals to commit the crime again even if criminals got a sentence longer than specified then they grudge against law enforcement. In brief, criminals should not be given a longer period of their punishment to reduce the crime rate.

Secondly, criminals will feel the emergence of injustice. having feelings like that will have a bad impact on criminals, so this can make crime rates rise due to this inequity. Consequently, this feeling of inequity causes resentment for criminals and does not cause a deterrent effect to reduce the crime rate. In short, give a longer sentence than specified to criminals can make feel injustice for criminals.

In conclusion, give a long term in jail to criminals will give a bad effect on themselves and don't determine to decrease the crime rate.