Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save the traditions.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that utilizing cultural traditions is the only way to protect these traditions from being ignored. Whereas, I wholeheartedly believe that they will be ruined when they are applied to attract more international visitors.

Initially, using traditions to increase the number of travelers can cause damage to themselves because they are commercialized for profits. When the locals are forced to work in the tourism industry they are required to adjust these traditions to meet the demand of the tourists, which make the old customs replaced by the modern ones and lose their original meaning. Not the least of which is that in the peak tourist seasons, so numerous sightseers are there that a quiet village even the remotest island or those natural traditional sited such as ethnic villages located in mountains turn to a noisy market. This may lead to a sharp rise in domestic garbage as well as natural resources consumption which may overtop the support from traditional areas.

Nevertheless, setting culture traditions as money attractions will be able to save those traditions which lack of money and labor for surviving. The government finds it impossible to renovate these historical sites due to the serious shortage of finance. Therefore, if there is a significant fall in the number of visitors, these traditional skills and lifestyles along with a lot of authentic regions can not be impressively presented to international people and might soon be forgotten because of the lack of foreign investment. For example, in some developed countries such as Thailand or India, people do not have adequate finance for maintaining historical heritages or reconstructing traditional buildings. Those Buddhist sculptures might have been eroded away when local government do not have enough conditions as well as money on repairing. For many parts of the world, not only does tourism become a major source of income but it also helps to save the local culture from dying out.

To sum up, I believe that many traditional customs will be adversely affected when they are utilized to make more money. We should find the balance between tourism development and cultural protection.