Some people think that the development of technology help decrease crime and other people think that would encourage crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether technology advancement would be a powerful tool for some to commit crimes. I believe that thanks to the prevalence of modern technologies, the rate of crime would be controlled and it would be easier to detect lawbreakers.

Admittedly, criminals are likely to take advantage of the vulnerabilities in cybersecurity to invade people’s privacy through the internet. Thereby, those who are unaware of the potential dangers on the internet would easily fall prey to online swindlers. Take, for example, Facebook which is a popular social network allowing people to connect with strangers worldwide. An anonymous account with fake information tries to approach users by sending them deceptive messages in form of lucrative offers, which request them to log in to their bank accounts, and then withdraw a part or all money of those users. Similarly, a black-hat hacker could hack into a system to access one’s surveillance camera and use those stolen videos to blackmail him or her. These criminal acts surely raise concerns about the advancement of the technology age.

However, technological revolutions would perhaps change the way the government deals with criminals. Chief of these is the innovation of a wide range of devices that leads to the reform of crime prevention and crime control strategies. To look for a supporting example, one needs to look no further than China whose government has set up CCTC– a type of surveillance camera on almost every street. Once a theft tries to flee after stealing valuable items, his or her images recorded in the streets’ cameras will be used to detect his or her location, which helps police arrest that person faster than traditional methods. By implementing technology in crime control strategies, the number of crimes would decrease significantly, as a result, a large amount of manpower in detecting lawbreakers is not required.

In conclusion, the advancement of technology will facilitate cybercriminals to commit crimes however, they should consider the consequence of scamming or robbing because innovative technology devices would help policemen arrest them after a short time.