Some people think that excessive use of smartphones badly affects a teenager’s literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that spending much time on mobile phones has negative impacts on the writing and reading abilities of young people. In my opinion, I am in favor of those who completely agree with this view.

Firstly, using excessively the amount of time on phones is considered as the main culprit causing a decrease in the literacy proficiency of youngsters. This stems from the fact that they have not enough time for academic studies at schools as well as the lack of time for their assignments at home, which means hours spent on mobile phones is not useful. Therefore, studying by the traditional education method should be encouraged instead. Secondly, adolescents have a tendency to interact with their friends via applications integrated in smartphones nowadays. They occasionally convey their ideas based on weird abbreviations and emotional icons which seem to be not familiar with someone who is from the former generation. Subsequently, making use of this means of communication is a contributing factor to the conventional words standard and expressions. In conclusion, the written communication skills of the young generation may be inferior to senior ones or those who are fond of reading.

Recently, students have stuck their eyes hourly on phones’ screens for entertainment purposes, even read neither newspapers nor magazines while earlier people have frequently devoted their leisure time to bury in books or novels. As a result, they might be a shortage of knowledge about the surrounding world and being unlikely isolated when joining an environment that includes old people.

To conclude, by the above-mentioned reasons, I think that teenagers hook into their smartphones may be poor in reading and writing skills.