Some people think that formal education should start for children as early as possible, while others think that it should not start until 7 years of age.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The optimum age for children to start school has engendered controversy amongst the public. While some people believe the earlier the better, I am on board with those who argue for a later than 7 years old.

Advocate of an early school time for children cite their good memory as a crucial factor. A growing body of studies reveal that it is the the age of three when children are best at memorizing and imitating. If children can receive education at that time, more chances are that they would acquire more knowledge, which gives them a critical edge over others who start school late down the road in study. However, the problem with such argument is that memory is not the only factor that affects students’ academic performance, and I believe, considerations like mental stability and independence are more vitally important. Children, around 3 years old, tend to be more attached to their parents, and forcing them to leave their beloved ones and integrate into a totally unfamiliar atmosphere simply means too much stress for them, which could do a disservice to their mental health. As a result, not only affect their study but also ruin their life later on.

So I agree with those who argue for a later-than-7-years-old school age, as children at that age tend to be more psychologically ready to embrace challenges and socialize with peers. Raising questions when necessary, expressing own ideas confidently, and sharing opinions with peers, 7-years-old children are more proactive and cooperative in school, which would equip them with more soft and hard skills, and optimize their learning outcome. Take Finland and Denmark as examples, where students attend schools relatively late but achieve better academic outcome in the world.

To conclude, despite children memorize things more effectively and efficiently at an early age, only when they are ready can schools nurture them into overall healthy and knowledgeable young citizens.