Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead Discuss both sides and give your opinion

One of the highly contentious issue today related to whether job can be secured by obtaining degree from university or it is the work experience that one should prefer to gain. In this essay, I will strongly accord to the view that unless a degree is awarded by university, a job is not guaranteed. Beside both option I will be expatiated upon in greater detail and a reasoned conclusion will be reached.

One side of the argument, people argue that the merits of having a degree from university outweigh the disadvantages. The main reason for this is because careers such as medicine, nursing, and dentistry etc., can only be taught in university. Furthermore, it is also possible to say that a degree from university as important as it is a prerequisite to getting a lucrative job. For instance, big companies like Tata consultancy services and Larsen and Toubro only accept applicants who have a university degree.

On the other hand, while this side of the debate has some valid viewpoints, the opposing case can also be made. People also argue that not all kind of job require a university degree; they believe jobs that deal with machines are hardly taught in detail, in the university. A good illustration of this is a study carried out by a professor at Harvard University. His findings reveled that 40% of engineering graduates lack the practical skills require for doing their jobs. In addition to this, it is not uncommon for us to find people holding a university degree but being without a job. In fact, a recent survey in Australia found that over 50% of unemployed youth have a university degree.

After having discussed the pertinent points of this issue. I am inclined to the opinion that a degree from university is a necessity to procuring a profitable job.