Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

More than ever in the past, obesity has become very much commonplace among young children and there are individuals who argue that the government is at fault. I strongly disagree with the argument based on the following explanations.

Indeed, the government has a major responsibility to safeguard the welfare of the general public, including health issues. Nowadays, the market of fast food has significantly become more widespread and the availability of soft drinks and soda has also surged across the globe. Consequently, people are more prone to consuming unhealthy foods such as junk food, oily or sugary products, leading them to become obese. Regarding this matter, it is arguable that the government lacks proper mechanisms to tackle the issue, i.e, establishing laws and regulations over the food companies or those contributing to the fast-food markets. Nonetheless, the governments seem to acknowledge their inadequate performance later on and are now trying to implement reforms or backup plans to solve this problem. For instance, they instruct the schools to educate the students more about having a healthy diet, and they make some regulations on the production process of the junk food companies.

Thus, the main reason why I disagree with the statement is that the government is trying its best to prevent the health-related issues which can be assumed as the horizontal impact, but it is the public or the citizens that need to act up to balance the equation in order to carry out the vertical impact. The parents or the guardians are the people who are living in the closest vicinity of the children, and they largely hold the responsibility to monitor the food intake of their youngsters. The children, who are still naive and unaware of health-related consequences, will eventually ask for those unhealthy foods, sweets, soft drinks, and snacks. Hence, the role of parenting figures plays a significant role in deciding suitable and well-balanced diets for the children. To cite an example, the parents can train the young individuals to consume more vegetables and less sugary products which they can later become not picky about the food in their adulthood.

To sum up, just because the government has the responsibility for the children being overweight these days, it does not necessarily mean that the citizens are free of guilt from this issue. Despite the effort that the government is desperately trying to put regulations and educate the public, it is mass people who need to collaborate with the government in accordance with the laws and consciously aware of the possible health issues of the children.