Some people think that government should ban dangerous sports while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity Discuss both views and give your own opinion
It is true that there is widespread concern over the practice of extreme sports, to the
extent that some people argue that they should be outlawed by government
legislation. While nobody should underestimate the risks, I would argue that people
should be free to practice such sports if they so wish.
On the one hand, critics of dangerous sports give strong reasons why governments
should impose an official ban on such activities. Firstly, they argue that such a
measure is necessary on safety grounds. There have been numerous incidents where
members of rescue services have had to put their own lives at risk to save extreme
sports enthusiasts who are in life-threatening situations. Secondly, it is necessary at
times to infringe on personal freedoms because people who lack the necessary
experience or who are not at the peak of their physical condition sometimes take up
dangerous sports. Such irresponsible behavior can only be prevented by banning
these sports.
On the other hand, I concur with those who argue that people should be free to do
extreme sports, although I believe it is necessary for individuals to abide by the safety
rules. One reason is that the imposition of sensible safety measures has been proven to
minimize the risk of accidents and injuries. For example, all sports which carry a
significant element of danger, such as scuba diving or paragliding should be
supervised by an experienced and professionally qualified instructor. Another factor is
that there is now a range of essential sports gear to protect those who practice
dangerous sports. Such equipment ranges from safety ropes and helmets to water-
resistant clothing.
In conclusion, it seems to me that dangerous sports should be permitted, although
those who take part have a responsibility to adhere to the recommended safety
procedures.