Some people think the government should pay for health care and education, but there is no agreement about whether it is the government’s responsibility. What is your opinion.

Governmental liability in health care and education disbursements have been highlighted as an emerging issue in recent decades due to some significant impacts on national development. From my standpoint, I agree that such investments are governments’ responsibility.

It is true that governments should be responsible for spending on health care and education. Idealogically, the basic relationship between governments and citizens are based on the form of social contract, stipulating the rights and liabilities of both parties. Accordingly, individuals with different income levels are obliged to pay tax or other charges, and official authorites are liable for providing basic public services to guarantee citizens’ interests, which also shall include health care and education. Otherwise, if government failed to offer those services, it would be deemed as the breach of social contract.

There are many positive implications when it comes to governmental expenditure on healthcare and education sectors. From the health care perspective, investments in the installment of medical institutions with qualified medical practitioners as well as the provision of advanced medical technologies would ensure citizens’ basic health and the prevention of the outbreak of any epidemics. By having reliable health infrastructure, the workforce’s physical quality are improved, making significant contributions to the national development. From the educational perspective, as the monetary injections by official authorities grow, the number educational institutions with qualified personnel thus rise. This means that illiteracy rate would decline since individuals are outfitted with empirical knowledge and vocational skills, broadening their career prospects with remarkable productivity, increasing nations’ revenues though higher taxation.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is governments’ responsibility to provide budget for health care and education because of the aforementioned benefits related to national development.