Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advantages and disadvantages of hosting an international sporting event are frequently discussed, dividing people in two categories: who believes this can benefit the country and who considers it just a burden. I personally agree with the first opinion.

Countries compete over the chance of hosting such event, this itself is self-explanatory of how important it is. First of all, when such event takes place, it involves not only athletes, but spectators too. This results in a booming rate of tourism, with a growth in demand for accommodations. Hotels are not the only ones who take advantage from this: tourists tend to spend more money when on vacation, so restaurants will surely be more crowded. Furthermore, the specific chosen city will be in the spotlight, being mentioned in magazines and news, gaining visibility as never before.

For example, after the London Olympics, its tourism percentages didn't decrease to its starting point, but still grew.

On the other hand, hosting this kind of event can be challenging. First of all, structures with specific regulations are needed. Often these aren't available, so nations have to build some from scratch. The costs are significant and, if not managed well, the funds might not be sufficient. As a consequence, the government has to pay extra money to be able to ultimate the construction works. Furthermore, after the event is over, a humongous complex of stadium, fields and buildings are left, with no other plan. Repurposing such structures can be hard and the costs of dismantle are considerable.

What happened to the Rio the Janeiro Olympics village is the striking example of this problem: it got abandoned and forgotten.

In my opinion the benefits of hosting an event out-weight the disadvantages, conferring to the country a spike in tourism and visibility that goes beyond the event's duration.