Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects. Others say it causes the loss of national identities.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this era of globalization, the world is considered to be a global village as trade, tourism, politics, films, music, literature, and arts are not restricted within a country’s border. This international business opportunity and cultural exchange surely bring many positive aspects while the negative impacts cannot be ignored as well. This essay delves into these two views and expresses my personal opinion on them.

First, borderless commerce underlines the necessity of an international language. Since the world has become a global village in which people from distinct regions speak the same language, further mutual benefits from transnational trade are closely associated with the disappearance of minor dialects on a global scale. Moreover, the dominance of affluent countries’ cultures has sped up the process of other countries’ cultural disappearance. For example, many teenagers in Vietnam would prefer listening to Korean or American songs to hearing Vietnamese folk music such as Bolero. As a consequence, occident costumes, foods, and lifestyles have gradually penetrated into Vietnamese people’s daily life, taking the place of time-honored values.

However, globalization, the tendency in which countries are growingly reciprocal, is a precious and unprecedented opportunity for an inferior culture to be advertised to the outside world. In the area of flourishing international tourism, a country is given the ability to promote its images in others’ eyes, which results in cultural quintessence including cuisine, costume, and festivals that can be preserved and brought into play.

In conclusion, although the global integration among countries can enrich many of the benefits, it can result in the loss of national identities.