Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city.

The way to address how residents dwell in the city is a contentious topic for many people. While occupying under low-rise constructions often appears as an optimal choice for numerous people citizens, living in high-rise buildings seems to be a prevalent option for others. My essay will shed the light for both sides of the argument and afterwards, give my own opinion.

Dominating in the horizontal city is likely to bring certain advantages. To commence with, it is undeniable that it can be beneficial for the neighborhood to avoid witnessing the ever-increasing of local traffic congestion in comparison with that of vertical area. The reason is stemmed from the low density of vehicles occuring to locomotives accords to the smaller number of population in the low-rise areas. Secondly, due to the land use right, residents can be able to modify their dwellings frictionlessly, which those accomodating in skyscrapers are not permitted. In fact, there are numerous citizens renovate their residential houses by building an additional terrace or mezzanine for other purposes.

Despite several compelling advantages of horizontal city, living in high-rise construction is undoubtedly an excellent choice for some people. The benefit of this which should be highlighted is that it facilitates people to share the utility of the building, hence deduct the time consumes in seeking other places to satisfy their needs. For instance, swimming pool and gymnastics are both auxiliary works by developers in terms of providing for apartment ’s owner the state-of-the-art facilities without going far. The second upside of accomodating in high-floor building is to safe space. While living on grounds, the land areas are being occupied renders high capacity for the city. However, by constructing condominium with up to hundreds of flats, the housing problems can be eased.

In conclusion, it is obvious that each type of building shows positives sides. In spite of distinctive perspective of people, I believe that it it is completely possible to reconcile both high-rise and low-rise building as a mix-used complex in the urban area in order to embrace their profound effects as well as satisfy different people’s preferences.