Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people think that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have a different perspective on how to spend their free time. While many people believe that leisure should be utilized by mind-boasting activities like reading or doing crossword puzzles, others are in favor of complete relaxing. In my opinion, a balanced combination of both will make proper usage of leisure.

People tend to pass their spare time doing various activities due to several reasons. Firstly, when we do activities like reading, listening to music, and solving puzzles our mind is completely occupied. This habit in turn leads us to continuous learners with up-to-date knowledge and this way being more cultivated and productive. For example, physicians even suggest certain mental exercise most of the time for patients with dementia to enrich their memory and mental ability. Therefore, mind-enhancing tasks in free time are overall beneficial.

On the other hand, another group has their unique way of thinking and wants to completely relax at spare time. This is probably due to their monotonous routine and exhaustion from workload and pressure. So, whenever they find some time for leisure, they dedicate that to themselves and their family. This way they are ready to come to work recharged and rejuvenated with a fresh and relaxed mind. Hence, it is important for them to rest completely at free time.

However, I believe, the exact balance of activities and relaxation can make the utilization of spare time most meaningful. Although we have routines for a day, there are always ups and downs. As such, in the spare time, we can follow our mind and have some music, reading or puzzle if we like to. Conversely, if hard work or tiredness already takes its toll for the day, someone can dedicate the leisure to complete rest. This way, a person can have full control over leisure and will enjoy most out of it.

In conclusion, despite people having different views on spending free time, proper combination and balance of mind boasting activities and complete relaxation will make a person’s leisure most effective.