Some people think that it is more important to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Providing proper healthcare to their citizens, is considered to be primordial responsibility of the government. Some people argue that health promotion is more important, rather than treating the ill and funds to be allocated for the promotion. I belives that both aspects are equally important, as it plays a crucial role in the well being of the public.

We all know the proverb, "Prevention is better than cure", it relays the importance of preventive aspects of illness. There are a lot of factors contributing to illness, if prompt attention given on time, can protect people from this. Health promotion involves a number of strategies like health education, environmental hygiene and so on. Recent researches conducted by W H O, proved the impact of preventive medicine, in health. The state can contribute nutritious suppliments, vaccines,and free regular check-ups, which are vital for the provision of well being. Routine follow ups of healthcare providers ,and an educated public can result in the development of healthy society.

On the other hand, people undergoes various kind of diseases and disabilities even though proper protective measures were followed; this situation demands the need of secondary prevention. Early discovery of illness and symptom helps in proper selection of treatment modalities, results in better outcome and life expectangy. If government can't arrange adequate facilities for the same, people will feel insecure, besides they will turn against the state.

In a nutshell, promotion of health and prevention of illness are the primary responsibility of government, while facilities for caring for the sick should be incorporated with these activities will give better results. A healthy society and individual are the biggest asset for a nation, for the same governmental side should be cleared in terms of facilities and fund.