Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries. Others however, believe it is unnecessary because TV and the Internet can give all the same information. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A few subjects are as likely to provoke controversy as travelling to foreign nations to learn other cultures is not essential. Instead, people can learn from many resources such as books, films and the Internet. I personally partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, nobody can deny the merits of travelling overseas. Obviously, it is a valuable chance to broaden knowledge and exchange cultures. People go to another country to actually study their culture or the way people are with each other. Of course, this information could be found on the Internet, however, what matters here is the experience people get from their journey. A good example of this case would be that Vietnamese people usually visit Japan where is known as the first sunrise country in order to communicate with indigenous people, enjoys the country’s traditional cuisines such as sushi, and wearing their tradition custom – Kimono.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why people do not need to travel foreign nations to study about other countries. Firstly, the cost of travelling to another country could be exorbitant. In terms of the flight ticket or extravagant hotel expenses for a couple of night. Furthermore, with the explosion of technology at an astonishing pace, there are numerous ways to explore other cultures. For instance, the advent of Facebook give global citizens considerable opportunities to chat directly with other country’s people and interchange cultures or in the near future, people are expected to develop the virtual reality technology to bring people real experiences in other countries without going outside their country.

In conclusion, there are a number of benefits to traveling overseas with the aim of learning about other countries, however, it is totally possible to explore these through several resources.