Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent.

Most people believe that a developed community is a result of good families. It is controversial whether parenting training should be introduced in the teaching curriculum or not. I completely agree that adolescents should learn how to be a good mother or father. In this essay, I will analyse my perspective and give relevant examples.

There are many causes that can lead us to commence parenting training in schools. One of these reasons is that students should know the value of having a family and children. Many countries realised the problem of having a high percentage of divorces and street kids; hence, they started to impose educational materials about the role of the family towards the community. A prime example of this is Canada which has introduced parenting education in their primary schools.

Another aspect to be considered is the skills ought to be gained at such young age. From my point of view, youngsters could learn the role and the duties of the mother and father such as safety, stress management and how to conduct a healthy lifestyle. They can learn paternity or maternity through reading books, watching documentaries or playing with dolls. Moreover, they can practice communication skills with younger children or even their younger siblings. A personal example of this was when I was younger, my mother taught me how to take care of my younger sister and showed me how to discipline her through communication and sometimes punishment.

To conclude, upbringing children is almost always challenging. It is essential to teach the younger generation the importance of constructing good families and how this could affect the community in the future.