Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In modern age with the development of high technologies the main purpose of museums remains unclear. Some people believe that museums are the institution which provides an opportunity to gain knowledge, while others assume that it serves the amusement needs. The justice of both claims will be observed in the essay.

Firstly, it is considered that people visiting museums mainly to learn something new and that this facility is a powerful instrument of education. For instance, Moscow Paleontological Museum is well-known for the great number of provided audio and video-resources, lectures and exhibitions. Those, who visit it, in fact gain a vast amount of opportunities to study the history of our planet and about creatures that live here now or lived thousands and millions years ago. Thus, the advantage of museums like the educational centers can be seen clearly.

On the other side, the advancement of digital technologies has made a museum the place where people can have a bit fun too. Certain people even argue that entertainment had become its main function. The St. Petersburg Darwin Museum of Nature, for example, decreased the quantity of literature and texts that visitors have to read and replaced it with illustrations, videos and holograms. This way, in one hand, helps to keep visitors stimulated and entertained while, in other hand, offers a possibility of deeper understanding of the historical, cultural or scientific topics the museum have. Therefore, the usage of hi-tech in museum helps the visitors to focus on information without getting bored and exhausted.

To sum up, both of the provided opinions contain the grain of the truth, but I definitely agree with the overwhelming benefit of museum as a studying facility, while its entertaining purpose is secondary and only helps visitors to gain more information in easier ways. Thus, it is believed that museums will be used mainly for this aim in the future.