Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of them is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many believe that museums ought to primarily focus on fascinating, rather than educational, purpose, while others argue the opposite. Despite ostensibly legitimate defenses underpinning the former sentiment, I am of the opinion that museums should accomplish the mission of educating a citizenry.

Those who advocate for entertaining purpose of museums point to a combination of reasons. In the first place, it can be difficult to instill historical and cultural value to the general public, especially to younger generation as they may become bored when approaching too much educational content. Moreover, foreigners often have limited amount of time to pay a visit to such historical institutions. As a result, there is a wide range of museums in the world nowadays applying cutting-edge technology to attract holiday-makers and leverage their key resources. To cite an example, the Tate Britain in London invited youngsters to transform selected artworks from 1840 gallery into hilarious GIFs using Tumblr, which caught public’s attention due to its unique and imaginativeness.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that museums should place an excessive emphasis on educating the citizenry as a whole. On a domestic level, students in every country are expected to learn their national history but these lessons at schools are often impersonal and abstract. Consequently, visiting the museum and seeing authentic documents from the past revitalizes history and inspires patriotism among every individual. At an international level, millennials will have the opportunity to broaden their understanding of traditions and events underpinning the modern world if they go to a museum featuring items from around the world. In the long run, this may result in a more inclusive and culturally diversified society.

In conclusion, though entertaining goal of museum is justifiable due to low threshold of boredom and restricted amount of time from visitors, I am largely against this being the sole purpose of museums owing to its educational benefits of instilling patriotism and widening the international horizons for every inhabitant.