Some people think that music plays an important role in society Others think it is simply a form of entertainment Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Music is truly the universal language. Some people believe that it benefits society as a whole, whereas, others consider it as a simple way of entertaining people. As music has a proven effect on human relationships, I tend to believe the former viewpoint, however, the value of music in entertainment industry cannot be disregarded.

A piece of music has a marvelous ability to benefit humans individually and collectively. Especially, it aids in strengthening relationships. For instance, lullabies help developing secure attachment between parents and infants. Protest songs, likewise, stir a sense of shared purpose in marches. Another example is national anthems, which connect crowds at sporting events. In addition to uniting people, music brings countless health benefits, such as relieving stress, enhancing memory and lowering symptoms of depression. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that symptoms of depression can completely be alleviated by regular music therapy sessions conducted by professional music therapists. Music, therefore, plays a vital role in society. If you are looking for a new hobby, music should top your list as the health and wellness benefits are remarkable. Music is capable of raising states of consciousness, changing your mood, developing the brain, lowering stress levels and accessing different states of the mind. Making music your new hobby can heal your body and your soul, making you a happier, well-rounded person.

However, almost everyone experiences the role of music as a form of entertainment. Its potential, such as to switch ones focus, to make people relax and to give them joyful moments, proves the importance of listening to music as a hobby in leisure time. In addition to enjoying recorded music, live concerts are preferred by people, who find it a great way of relaxing.

In conclusion, music, whereby almost everyone entertains themselves, offers a lot of merits to society as well, notably, strong human relationships and healthy nations in terms of mental, emotion and cognition.