Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed to be wasteful to either read printed news or watch news broadcasts due to its irrelevance to people’s lives. Although this proposal seems reasonable, I totally disagree with this view.

The media tend to focus on reporting the world situation and political problems which are somewhat unrelated to the life of ordinary people. For example, a blue-collar worker needs to focus on earning money/making a decent living; thus, the information in the news seems hardly significant. However, the relationship between news and their impacts on people are rarely perceived regardless of their jobs or ages. Informed of the war happening in some countries by watching news, travellers, for instance, can avoid these war-stricken/war-torn countries for the sake of securities.

Some compelling reasons for people to believe the daily news they watch or read will have considerable effects on their life can be taken into account. First, by staying up-to-date with the news, people can be aware of the surrounding world, which helps them behave more appropriately. Unbeknownst to the government's policies about COVID-19 and the social distancing strategy, for example, people may organize crowded parties, leading to far-reaching consequences. Another reason is that well-informed people can have a great opportunity to broaden their minds, supporting them in not only life but also jobs. In fact, people with news awareness are highly respected among their peers.

In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm that although some news in newspapers and information of TV programs seems trivial for some people, the benefits can be significant and undeniable