Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that parents should be responsible for nurturing children to be good citizens in the community while there are others who think that this role is for the school. While it is arguable that the school environment is a micro-society for children to have a moral upbringing, I believe that the extensive parent’s contact duration with the children makes them a preferable option to teach them to be better persons in society.

On the one hand, the diversity of people, both students and teachers, has made the school environment a microcosm of people with various backgrounds. This has a way of influencing the children, as it mirrors the real world. If there is going to be a better environment to get the proper upbringing in becoming good members of a society, that environment is the school. Most schools or institutions now have diversity clubs where people from different cultures, religions and social classes come together to share opinions on how to contribute positively to society.

On the other hand, most children spend a larger proportion of their time at home with their parents or guardians, affording them the luxury of time needed to train them to live right in the community. For a habit to be inculcated, there is the need for repeated exposure to an experience or knowledge contributing to this habit. More time with the parents gives this responsibility to them. A father who repeatedly talks about the benefits of kindness when spending time with his daughter is gradually instilling this good habit in her.

In conclusion, although the school environment mimics the society and has a wide range of influencing the children to live right within the community, the extended contact time parents or guardians have with children makes them a better fit to guide them on becoming good members of the society.