Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Some have argued that teaching children become good people is a prime responsibility of parents, whilst others think children should be taught to be good at school. This essay believes that both school and parents have strong influence to the young ones. The essay will first discuss children should be taught to have good manners at home, followed by a discussion of empathy and support lesson they could learn at school.

Mothers and fathers contribute significantly to building children’s behaviors. In other words, children are easily influenced by their parents, and they would usually copy and behave like their family. So, children would be taught to be polite when they see their parents act in charming manners. A recent study in New Zealand found out more than a half of children at early stage whose parents say ‘Thank you’, ‘Please’ or ‘Sorry’ frequently tend to be gracious people in the future.

On the other hand, schools also have vital role to teach adolescent be empathetic and supportive. At school, pupils could have a chance to work together with their classmates on group homework or science projects. They would have to support their friends and share knowledge to each other to solve the puzzle. Also, they would have to think about which difficulties that each member copes with, thus, they could help to resolve problems. According to recent research in Helsinki University, researchers concluded that group projects in the secondary school affected 35% of children’s empathy and cooperation.

In conclusion, to be good members of society, both parents and teachers are responsible to teach children to have good manners, empathy and helpfulness because children would certainly need long-term learning from both school and home.