Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t.

Discuss both these points of views and give your own opinion.

It is beyond dispute that sports has achieved worldwide popularity as a form of entertainment in the past decades due to the development of the mass media that enables international coverage of a sport event. Consequently, the issue of whether professional athletes, who are now receiving a significant number of fans around the world, will act as good role models for young people remains a source of constant debate. This essay will elaborate on both the positive and negative aspects of the issue.

Firstly, famous athletes could be a great source of inspiration for youth because of their patience, diligence and passion. In order to succeed in the sport industry, athletes are required to practice laboriously and invariably challenge themselves despite injuries. As the skills needed to master a particular sport could take years to acquire, passion and assiduousness are therefore indispensable for athletes. For instance, various famous and affluent footballers such as Neymar used to suffer from abject poverty in childhood but still manage to succeed because of their devotion. From these athletes, young people could apprehend that commitment to a career will lead to success.

However, due to the special nature of the celebrities’ life, many top athletes fail to maintain a positive image of themselves and may impose negative impacts on teenagers. Some athletes such as Tiger Wood suffer from sex or drug addiction because of their wealthy and open lifestyle. Moreover, several athletes even take doping and performance-enhancing drugs to improve their performances’ results. Additionally, as professional athletes could quickly gain fame and money, children may adopt the wrong illusions and focus too much on playing sports while ignoring study at school.

Overall, athletes could be both a good and a bad role model for young people. It depends on the education from parents to prevent children from forming wrong ideas and emulating bad athletes.