Some people think that public health is at the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health.

discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is sometimes argued by individuals that the government is responsible for public health while others consider that each of us has to take responsibility for our well being. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and why I believe that individuals are more responsible for public health.

On one hand, the government is responsible for public health because they represent the society as a whole. Consequently, it is the role of the government to ensure the well-being of individuals, for example, by preventing them from doing things that are harmful such as an over-consumption of junk food, or the lack of exercise. Furthermore, the government owns the highest amount of money in order to prevent and support public health, for example, the government can invest funds through awareness campaigns or by subsidizing the medical treatments in case of severe health condition.

On the other hand, individuals as human beings are responsible for their own health because they are the ablest to take actions for themselves. Indeed, people have to be aware of their health, such as knowing the dangers of the consumption of recreational drugs and not taking them. Moreover, children should be informed by their parents about health issues as they are responsible for their education, for example, hygiene rules have to be handed down such as how washing their hands is important.

In conclusion, both sides of the arguments have their merits. In my opinion, I thoroughly think that both the government and individuals are responsible at a different scale but I also believe that the education given to children is the key to make sure public health.