Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that reading books is more associated with meaningful learning than watching TV or playing computer games which hold back children’s imagination to stretch creatively and their analytical mind to function properly. I completely agree with the idea that reading can work to children’s advantage. Children definitely reap the benefits of reading due to several reasons. Firstly, reading can exercise and stimulate a child's brain. The brain is replete with neurons which operate as information transmitter throughout the nervous system. Learning occurs once connection between neurons sustain. Reading helps a child develop this connection and also make new connection as he or she grows older. They have to analyze a reading passage or story in terms of vocabulary, structure, idea and the link between them. So, this fosters natural development and maturation of the child. Secondly, the concentration of child will also improve as the child needs to sit still and reads quietly to perceive and interpret the intended meaning of the text. Therefore, the whole brain is involved in this process to make this learning happens.

Furthermore, children have the tendency to visualize what is written in the book or story that stimulates their imagination faculty. To realize their full potential, they need information to feed their brain. If all the pictures, drawings and the context of text work as stimulator to reinforce child learning, the child will be able to make a connection between what they already knew and what is in the text and make something of their own. Finally, children who read books perform better at school. By the knowledge they possess, they can express themselves in written and spoken skills. They can put their thoughts into words more efficiently and be skilled communicators.

On the other hand, although technology improves people's life to a substantial degree from advancing in medical science to providing more employment opportunities, it has deleterious effects on mental and physical well-being of individuals as well. For example, computer games and TV programs deprive children of having normal life and endanger their health as they make children grow accustomed to sedentary lifestyle which is a direct threat to their health.

To sum up, I hold my conviction regarding the importance of reading as it nurtures potential in children. However, TV programs and computer games take away from young their creativity and bring out reading deficiency in a child.