Some people think that renewable energy sources like solar and wind power should replace fossil fuels such as coal and gas as soon as possible. Others think we should continue to use fossil fuels while it is still cheap to do so.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to the environmental concerns, a variety of renewable energy sources like solar and wind power is encouraged to replace the conventional energy sources of coal and gas promptly. However, the economic issues lead to the argument to keep utilizing these fossil fuels.

From the first point of view, shifting toward clean power is considered essential for environmentally-friendly and sustainable development. As a matter of fact, burning coal or natural gas to generate energy emits considerable heat and carbon dioxide, which consequently increases the global temperature at an unprecedented rate and causes air pollution. Furthermore, since fossil fuels require an extensive time to naturally replenish, which may take up to thousands or even millions of years, keep abusing these energy sources may drive them to their extreme. Thereby, converting to green alternatives at the earliest opportunity can avoid the fossil fuels being run off.

On the contrary, the financial effectiveness of renewable energy sources must also takes under concern. It is argued that investing in these alternatives put a heavy burden on the government and companies in purchasing and developing new equipment and facilities for harnessing solar, wind, or hydroelectric power. Thus, it can be seen that the utilization of solar panels or wind towers for producing energy in many developing countries is still immensely limited. According to this context, coal, natural gas, or oil are still believed to continue dominating energy production in the upcoming future.

From my perspective, I believe that shifting towards using alternative energy is worthwhile due to the great benefits it brings. In terms of cost, even though renewable energy sources require a huge amount of initial funding, the facilities can be used in a long term. Thus, the expenditure will be more affordable and offer a lot of potential savings over time.