Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether should reward students who achieve the highest grades or whether those who show the improvements deserve the award. This question still remains a source of controversy today. I would argue that praising students who have improved is much more reasonable.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why students who achieve the highest scores are usually rewarded. Firstly, this could create a highly competitive environment among students in schools. To win prizes as desired, they will have to give an immense effort into the studies. Furthermore, schools should encourage them to focus on the study to get the best results. Secondly, despite the fact that many schools reward talented student aiming to boost their image comparing with others, attracting many students enrol each year. For example, some educational institutions in my country usually organise events, inviting lots of guests with only a purpose awarding to their students.

On the other hand, I believe that giving encouragements to those who make strides in their study results could be beneficial in some ways. One of the benefits is that this is equal chances for every student to receive awards, they can see that all their efforts deserve recognition and expectation. As a consequence, they will feel motivated to promote all their capabilities in making significant progress. Another benefit is that it may lead to a change in their view about scores. Instead of pursuing the highest scores, they will concentrate the quality of the study. Consequently, several common phenomena which occur when examination coming, including pressure, anxiety and cheating will be reduced.

In conclusion, although it is advantageous to some extent about rewarding highest achievers, it seems to me that it is better to award those who have improved their level of academic performance.