Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question related to whether criminals should be put into jail has caused many controversies among the public in recent years. While I agree that rehabilitation programs such as education and job training are impeccably important, I believe that there are cases that require the imposition of jail sentences.

On the one hand, criminals do have their humans' rights as well as a chance to rebound. By going through job training sessions and educational therapy treatments, there is a high possibility that criminals can reflect on their deleterious behaviors, thus being willing to redeem their wrongdoings. For example, teenagers who shoplift or get into fights should be taken into consideration of their detrimental living conditions or even the lack of social guidance from their parents. Under this circumstance, these youngsters deserve to attain their right to be educated so that they can become good citizens, contributing their competences to the development of the world.

On the other hand, imposing jail sentences can act as the prevention of highly dangerous criminals. There are severe crimes that the authority must be aware of to protect the lives of other innocent citizens. Take serial killers, for example, some of them may experience psychological illness which leads them to behave aggressively without feeling guilty. Therefore, a jail sentence would be more effective in securing the safety of our society. This sentence can also be applied to other severe cases to ensure the authoritative figure of the hierarchy is persuasive to civilians.

In conclusion, the act of imposing jail sentences is not necessarily effective for minor crimes, but it can be sufficient when facing more dangerous criminals.