Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Children’s upbringing methods have long been a topic of controversy. Many people are of the opinion that youngsters need to be motivated to compete for their place in life whereas others reckon that the ability of working with other people is much more necessary. From my point of view, while kids should receive education in terms of both competition and cooperation for balanced personality development, more attention should be given to sense of cooperation.

Born and raised in a competitive culture, my eight-year-old nephew, Nick has always been told that he needs to be the best. This upbringing method has made him an arrogant kid who sees no friends but rivals to excel. Some people advocate such competition-oriented education while others believe that Nick should be taught how to collaborate with other people instead. From the story, I reckon that cooperation should be given priority over competitiveness in children’s upbringing.

3. For the aforementioned reasons, it is evident that youngsters should be taught to cooperate rather than compete with others. Not only children but also parents and teachers need to bear in mind that nobody is perfect. Before obstacles in life that cannot be overcome with individual force, collaboration is the key.