Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Hitherto, there are several conceptions on the children’s education to become useful adults in the future. On the one hand, there are some perspectives that we should encourage children to have a sense of competition. While on the other hand, they assume that co-operation is what children need to become more useful.

With regard to the competition, I can see some points of the supporters about the benefits of it. As a matter of fact, the sense of competition takes on the role of motivation for the children’s development. The fair competition between the children with their friends or classmates might raise their endeavor to accomplish achievement. However, the competition should only be encouraged in a suitable level, if we put too much pressure on the kid to be better or outstanding for the long-term, it will be counter-productive and even negatively affect their mental health. In that case, your kid will grow up as an individual who is full of envy, always desire more and hardly accept his place or what he owns.

In my opinion, I stick to the state that co-operation is the personality that children need to be trained in. In my country, there is a statement that “if you want to go quickly, go alone. But if you want to go far, go together”. Therefore, I have a great belief that the children who perceive how to co-operate with others might be useful and successful in the future. In fact, each individual can not be perfect, they need their partners for team-working to complement and finish the task in the fastest and optimal way. Moreover, children with a sense of co-operation are usually known as the ones who are open-hearted, willing to share and have sympathy.

In conclusion, it can not be denied that competition is a part of our life for development. However, it needs to be encouraged and controlled to follow the fair direction. Additionally, co-operation is immensely necessary for children to become useful adults.