Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, values taught to children are subject to great discussion.

Some parents think that competition is essential to stimulate their kids, on the other hand others prefer a friendlier environment more focused on cooperation to mold on their children.

Being competitive is without any doubt very engaging. Furthermore, it can teach to children remarkable values, such as perseverance and dedication.

There are some drawbacks with this approach though: frequently it not taught to children how to manage failure and anger issues because the stress is just on winning. Moreover, parents can get out of hand too; I've seen some fathers screaming at their sons just because they missed a shot at scoring a goal.

On the opposite side, it can be found a completely different mindset, in which children aren't forced to compete but much rather to help each other. Being able to understand somebody’s issue, and trying to help to resolve it, is one of the most powerful skills a kid can learn. In addition, in a scenario like this one, the environment is much more relaxed and peaceful, letting the kid to have a happy childhood.

For example, when I finally had the courage to drop my agonistic career in horse riding, I felt a sudden feeling of relieve and turned more social and talkative because I was not subject anymore to such a huge amount of stress.

If I had kids, I would be more prone to embrace the second method, although every kid is different, and it might not be suitable with everyone. However, in my opinion, there might be the risk that competitive children would turn into ruthless or egoistic, with just their own interest in mind.