Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social networking sites have brought significant changes to our habits in recent years. While it is argued by many that they bring people closer, there remains some disagreement as to whether the overall effect of this invention has been positive or negative. OveralI, it is my personal view that the benefits of social networking sites far outweigh theirs drawbacks. These benefits are twofold.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that social networking sites bring people closer. It cannot be denied that together with internet, social networking sites facilitate the way we communicate. Thanks to social sites like facebook or instagram, we can nowadays get through to relatives far away just by a click of a button. No matter how far the distance is, we can update what our beloved ones are like in the fastest way. Even though the problem of private information leakage is real, it can be avoided by setting privacy function available on any social networking sites.

Equally important, particularly in the era of big data, when the speed of spreading information is extremely high, social networking sites become a pivotal tool in doing business. Instead of using traditional ways of marketing which is not only costly but also ineffective, marketing and advertising by social networking sites constitutes a perfect substitute for advertising on TV. The more social networking users are, the more viral the information is, which consequently increases the effect of marketing dramatically.

By way of conclusion, I once again affirm my position that social networking sites have more positive influences rather than detrimental impacts on individual as well as society. In years to come, I do believe that social networking sites should be encouraged to be widely used together with training on how to use them properly for the sake of minimizing the risk of social isolation.