Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are of the opinion that students should learn about the food's nutrition and the food- preparing methods. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that it is a waste of time to do so and students should focus on crucial subjects at school.

On the one hand, people think students should devote their time to some vital subjects such as Math, Literature and English because the science of food does not provide them with any useful knowledge to help them pass the school exams and improve their career prospects in the future . For example, Math can help students improve their problem-solving skills as well as critical-thinking skills, while students can write and communicate effectively in various languages by learning about Literature and English. Nevertheless, there is no test or exam about food's nutrition or how to cook food. Moreover, no employers want to know about their cooking skills, except students who want to work as a chef. . In that case, they can learn about them at some vocational colleges. Therefore, students shouldn't spend their school time studying about food.

On the other hand, my firm belief is that it is important for students to study the science of food and how to cook them. By enhancing their understanding about food, they are able to know which kinds of foods are healthy for them and not rely on their parents when it comes to cooking. Since when learning about food they can broaden their knowledge about the nutritional values that the foods contain such as fat, calories, sodium,etc. As a result, they decrease the amount of unhealthy food that they consume like sugary drinks and fast food which are known as contributing factors to obesity among teenagers. For example, at some schools, after listening to the nutritionists talking about food, they said they would definitely add more nutritious food into their diets such as vegetables and protein-riched food. In addition, after some cooking lessons at school, parents are not too concerned about preparing food before leaving their children alone at home.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the science of food should be put into the school curriculums so that students can lead a healthy lifestyle and not depend on their parents in terms of cooking.