Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some people are of the opinion that students should learn about the food's nutrition and the food preparation. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that students should focus on crucial subjects at school. In my opinion, students should study about food alongside other academic subjects.

On the one hand, opponents of the food preparation course argue that such courses are a huge waste of time, because the science of food does not contribute to academic qualifications or decent scores that students need in order to get into top universities like other subjects such as Math and English. Moreover, no employers want to know about their cooking skills, except those students want to work as a chef. In that case, they can learn about it at some vocational colleges.

On the other hand, my firm belief is that it is beneficial for students to do the course in food. Firstly, they are able to know which kinds of food are healthy for them since learning about food can broaden their knowledge about the nutritional values that the food contains such as fat, calories, protein, etc. As a result, they cut down on the amount of unhealthy food that they consume like sugary drinks and fast food, which are known as contributing factors to obesity among teenagers. Also, they may add more nutritious food to their diets such as vegetables, fruits and whole grain. Furthermore, parents are not too concerned about preparing food for their children when they are up to their ears in work as their children are already taught how to cook meals themselves.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the food related subjects should be put into the school curriculums so that students can lead a healthy lifestyle and not depend on their parents when it comes to cooking.