Some people think that studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life while others believe that history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a contradiction that if the source of information from the pass offers any benefits to today’s life. One side thinks that they retain a trustworthy source of information, while the other side does not. Of course, each side has some valid reasons form their opinions; I prefer the former side to the latter.

Because of the rapid development in science and technology in the world today, people can do many things, which in the past they could not. The knowledge and the achievements are huge, especially in recent decades. Especially, with the support of supercomputers, scientists have found new drugs, new methods of medical treatment. For example, flu vaccinations help to save many babies; a thing that in the past was not possible. Hence, people, who are not in favor of supporting the benefits from the pass, do not think too much about traditional knowledge; they ignore ancestral achievements.

However, ancestral knowledge is still valuable nowadays; that is the field, which technology does not affect. Paper is an example for this case that people only copy the manufactural procedure from ancestors. The most important thing that people could learn from ancestors is survival skills such as fire survival, water survival, or navigational skills. These skills, which ancient cultures invested and used themselves for thousands of years, disappear in advanced living. Therefore, citizens in city or even in the countryside should learn survival skills to save their life in emergency cases. In addition, scientists could use their advanced technology to check if ancient sources of information are correct or not before applying or using. It demonstrates the respect for our ancestors, and also saves useful information for future generations.

In conclusion, although people have the argument on ancestral valuable sources, I believe that these sources of information still have a value in some fields of today’s life.