Some people think that universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether colleges education should have equal proportion of each genders in every subjects remains a source of controversy. Although some people believe that men and women should have the same education opportunities, I do not agree with this idea as such a strategy would bring two main drawbacks.

Having the same number of men and women on all degree course is simply unrealistic. Student numbers on any course should depend on the applications that the institution receives. If a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, it wouhd need enough application of each gender. In reality, many subjects are more popular with one gender than the other and it would not be practical to aim for equal proportions. For example, since nursing courses tend to attract more female applicants as its characteristics, it would be extremely difficult to fill in these courses if fifty percent of the places needed are dedicated to males.

Another rationale against this policy that it would be unfair to base admission to tertiary education on gender. Instead, universities should continue to select the best candidates for each subjects according to their qualifications. In this way, both men and women have the same opportunities to study their favourite subjects, which encourages applicants to work hard in order to achieve higher grades at school and academic courses. This also correlates to the fact that there would be more qualified workers contributing to the prosperity and stability of the society. If a male student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it would be wrong to reject him for a female students with lower grades or less degrees. Meanwhile, the rejected ones might have better performances and even achieve scientific research successes.

In conclusion, the selection of unversity students should be based on merit as it would be both impractical and unreasonable to change the current selecting procedure into ones that based on genders.