Some people think universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. Others believe that this is an unacceptable policy. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Gender equality is a major issue in education today and some believe keeping a balance between the numbers of female and male students in all university subjects to be a good means of achieving it. However, I, like many others, think that it is not beneficial.

Admitting a similar number of students from each gender in some courses will probably render many of them unable to find a job later. For example, most areas of agriculture are too burdensome for almost any woman in that they involve heavy physical activities and their working environment is affected significantly by the elements. Therefore, it is unlikely for a woman to be able to find a farming job once she has graduated in, say, agricultural engineering. Besides, such a policy would definitely bar many talented and enthusiastic applicants from studying their favourite courses merely because there may not be enough students from the opposite sex to join the course.

Some people think that accepting similar numbers of male and female students in all subjects promotes gender equality, as well as breaking the social taboos attached to studying courses that are usually prescribed to a specific gender. However, forcing students to study something they may not like, or stopping others from studying what they like in order to keep a balance does not seem fair at all. Social taboos are not broken in the short term either, and it is more probable that the students who study in fields that are taboo for their gender are rejected and sidelined in the process.

In conclusion, I personally disagree with accepting an equal number of boys and girls in any subject